Operation: Garden Rescue

Remember when I said that the landlord was going to tear out the garden and fill the back yard with concrete? Well, he did. But not before we dug up and transplanted my cherry tomato plant. Everything else was moved, and he knew I was going to be upset if it was thrown out or paved over!


Just looking at that shovel gets me all riled up.

Just looking at that shovel gets me all riled up.

Picking up the plant, transferring it to a wheelbarrow, rolling it between the other plants, and dragging it up the stairs to bring it into the front yard was a pain to deal with, so early in the morning. "It's so heavy, like a body or something! This is why I'd never join the mafia!"

Picking up the plant, transferring it to a wheelbarrow, rolling it between the other plants, and dragging it up the stairs to bring it into the front yard was a pain to deal with, so early in the morning. "It's so heavy, like a body or something! This is why I'd never join the mafia!"

Little tomatoes kept falling off and bouncing around so I had to chase after them all!

Little tomatoes kept falling off and bouncing around so I had to chase after them all!

Whew! Done!

Whew! Done!

The plant was okay when I left for work, but the next day it looked pretty droopy and unhappy. It continued on like that for a few days and I freaked out.

The Master Gardener at the farmers’ market said “Your plant is in shock!” when I asked for advice. I honestly didn’t know whether or not to start laughing or tell her to break out some defibrillators.

It needed a little time to adjust, and isn’t doing so bad now, but the season is ending so with less sunshine, it’s growing more slowly and it takes much longer for the tomatoes to turn red. The landlord and the Master Gardener both said that soon it would need to get scrapped anyway, but that wasn’t the point.

2009 has been a really tough summer for me (personally, not garden-wise) and this particular group of crazy vines made me so happy that I really tried to keep it healthy for as long as possible. At least it was good while it lasted! I can’t wait until next summer, to start again.

Eat well!

Kari

This entry was posted in Garden, Non-recipe Related and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

